Motsepe Foundation Establishes Fund Committee

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /var/www/
  • Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 517 of /var/www/
  • Notice: Undefined index: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /var/www/
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /var/www/
Newsroom 2's picture

KURUMAN: The multi-billionaire and philanthropist Patrice Motsepe has stood to his words that of empowering the less privileged and further give them a chance to establish themselves in the business world. On Tuesday 22 October 2013 the Ga-Segonyana municipality was thronged by aspiring entrepreneurs, when the Motsepe Foundation came for the second time after its previous visit in June 2013. The primary purpose of the visit was to elect a vibrant committee that will endeavour to run the af-fairs of the fund in conjunction with local com-mercial banks. The Foundation has put up R6-million for the district towards emerging entrepreneurs and wants the funds ad-ministered in total transparency to avoid the possibility of corruption. Personally addres-sing the over-expectant Kuruman community members, with a number of stakeholders in attendance, Mr Motsepe dwelled on open-ness in the distribution of the money, adding that those appropriately deserving recipients must be identified by the committee without prejudice. He said that the fund is not there to fatten the balance sheets of banks but must be distributed on time. He emphasised that the fund must meritoriously benefit the people, especially the disadvantaged com-munity whose bright visions are blurred by access to funding. A total of 33 members were later drawn from different sectors of society including traditional leaders, legal experts, religious leaders, education, bank-ers, and women from business, agriculture and municipalities, among others.
3From left to right : Mr Patrice Motsepe (Motsepe Foundation) welcomes committee members, District Executive Mayor Sofia Mosikatsi, Chief Bareki (Heuningvlei), Chief Toto (Batlharos) and Chief Motswarakgole (Dithakong).

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)