2016 Early Childhood Development Awards winners announced

Hoogtepunte / Highlights

The National Development Agency (NDA), an agency of the Department of Social Development, held the Northern Cape Provincial SA Early Childhood Development (ECD) awards in Kimberley on 10 February 2017. The awards, which form part of the NDA’s capacity building programme, are highly sought after amongst ECD practitioners. 

The NDA continues to be committed to the development and advancement of the ECD sector in South Africa. Dr Anthony Bouwer, NDA Chief Operating Officer said “We want to encourage excellence in the ECD sector, because government has declared ECD as a public good. It is important that we create the platform to give our children a better foundation so that we can break the cycle of poverty in South Africa.”

The Northern Cape’s Department of Social Development MEC Gift van Staden said “The sole reason we are here is to applaud the practitioners for the outstanding work they are doing. The department is committed to invest in early childhood development because we know that effective early childhood development will improve the standard of education in South Africa”.

Best ECD Centre winner in the province is Kwikstertjies Speelgroep from Wrenchville, second place went to Ipetlontle Pre-School from Kuruman followed by Ipolokeng Pre-School also from Kuruman in the third place.

Best ECD practitioner winner is Mpho Motong from Bahentse Preschool in Kuruman, second place went to Elizabeth Riet from El-Shaddai Pre-School from Kimberley followed by Gloria Chono from Pearly Early Learning Centre from Mothibistad in third place.

In attendance, was the national winner of 2015 Best Trainer category Ms Mieta Lebowa and Ms Krieta Bahumi who won the National Best ECD Centre of 2015 in Cape Town in 2016. The two ladies where there to motivate the 2016 nominees.

The winners will represent the Northern Cape province at the National Awards to be held in March 2017 in Johannesburg.

Other people in attendance was the Executive Mayor Councillor Buyiswa Ximba of Frances Baard District Municipality, Department of Education and Health, representatives from the other development funding institutions and representatives from the business sector in Kimberly.

The other categories, which are - Best ECD Publication, Best ECD Trainer, Best ECD Programme for children with disabilities, and the new national category - Best ECD Centre Based Nutrition Programme of the Year, will be awarded at the National SA ECD Awards in March.

The chairperson of the congress of ECDs in the province, Mr Mokhele Mukhudu, was highly delighted by the exceptional results produced. “These ladies have made history by putting the district in the limelight in representing children from 0 - 7 years.

He however encouraged those who did not make it, saying that next year is still open for yet another contest.

The next contest in 2018 will be held in Magojaneng between March 16 and 17, hosted by the South African Congress for Early Childhood Development.

National Development Agency