New MECs sworn in

Politiek / Politics

The Northern Cape Provincial Legislature on 03 March 2016 swore-in three new Members of the Executive Council (MECs) as announced by the Premier, Sylvia Lucas. pauline
They are Pauline Williams - MEC for Transport, Safety and Liaison ; Bongiwe Mbinqo-Gigaba - MEC for Sport, Arts and Culture and Gift Van Staden - MEC for Social Develop-ment.
The Premier further reshuffled her cabinet, mainly due to the death of the MEC for Education, Grizelda  Cjiekella-Lecholo and the resigna-tion of the MEC for Public Works, Dawid Rooi and John Block – MEC for Finance, Economic Develop-ment and Tourism.
The reshuffled MECs are : Lebo-gang Motlhaping – MEC for Health, Martha Bartlett – MEC for Educa-tion, Mxolisi Sokatsha – MEC for Infrastructure and Public Works and McCollen (Mac) Jack – MEC for Fi-nance, Economic Development and Tourism.
The following MECs remain within their departments : Norman Shushu – Agriculture, Land Reform and Ru-ral Development, Alvin Botes – Cor-porate Governance, Human Settle-ment and Traditional Affairs and Tiny Chotelo – Environment and Nature Conservation.
Judge President Kgomo presided over the swearing-in ceremony.
The Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) in the Northern Cape welcomed the recent appointment of the new MECs and the long awaited and well deserved cabinet giftreshuffling.